JPM-Press Release-2022-24


Meeting between EU Officials and the Committee of Permanent Representatives (Photo Credit: ASEAN Secretariat) 


(Left to Right: Chargé d’Affaires, a.i. Elizabeth T. Te,Deputy Director General Myriam Ferran, Mr. Gunnar WiegandDeputy Secretary-General Michael Tene and EU Ambassador Igor Driesmans during the Launch of the ASEAN-EU Joint Photo Exhibition) (Photo Credit: ASEAN Secretariat)

28 July 2022, Jakarta – A meeting between the Committee of Permanent Representatives to ASEAN and European Union officials, Deputy Director-General Myriam Ferran of the Directorate General of International Partnerships, and EU Senior Official for ASEAN-EU relations Mr. Gunnar Wiegand, was held on 28 July 2022 at the ASEAN Secretariat. ASEAN and the EU discussed ways of enhancing ASEAN-EU engagement and exchanged views on regional issues.

Following the meeting, the CPR and the visiting EU officials also led the inauguration of the joint photo exhibition entitled, "Cooperation in Action". The photo exhibition is one of the activities to commemorate the 45th anniversary of ASEAN-EU Dialogue Relations, and showcases not only meetings and conferences jointly held by the two regional organizations, but also human-interest photos including cooperation projects and exchanges.

In their remarks, Deputy Secretary-General Michael Tene for ASEAN Political-Security Community, EU Senior Official for ASEAN-EU relations Wiegand, DDG Myriam Ferran, and Chargé d'Affaires, a.i. Elizabeth Te of the Permanent Mission of the Philippines to ASEAN shared the view that the 45 photos featured in the exhibition represent efforts from both regional organizations to bring more tangible benefits of their cooperation to the peoples of both ASEAN and the EU. (END)


(Left to Right: Mr. Bovonethat Douangchak,Ambassador of Lao PDR Mission to ASEAN; Ms. Nur Nadiah Hidayat, Counsellor, Malaysian Mission to ASEAN; Ambassador Kok Li Peng, Singapore Ambassador to ASEAN, Ambassador Urawadee Sriphiromya, Thailand Ambassador to ASEAN; Mr. Hoang Trang Hai, Deputy Permanent Representative, Viet Nam Mission to ASEAN, Ambassador Igor Driesmans, Ambassador of EU to ASEAN, Deputy Director General Myriam Ferran, Directorate General of International Partnerships; Mr. Gunnar Wiegand, EU Senior Official for ASEAN-EU relationsDeputy Secretary General Michael Tene, ASEAN Political-Security Community; Ms. Elizabeth T. Te, Chargé d’Affaires, a.i. Philippine Mission to ASEAN, Ambassador Aung Myo Myint, Myanmar Ambassador to ASEAN, Ambassador Pengiran Hairani Pengiran Tajuddin, Brunei Ambassador to ASEAN, Mr. Un Samnang, Counsellor, Cambodian Mission to ASEAN; Ambassador M.I. Derry Aman, Indonesian Ambassador to ASEAN) (Photo Credit: ASEAN Secretariat)